Prize-giving ceremony for Quest for Mathemagician Competition 2017

Feb 1, 2018

​Monday, 29th January 2018The Cluster 2, Department of schools held the prize-giving ceremony for Quest for Mathemagician Competition 2017 at Lecture Hall, Pusat Tingkatan Enam, Sengkurong .

Attended ad the Guest of Honour was Dayang Sarimah binti Abu Bakar, Head of STEP centre.

The rationale behind the Quest for Mathemagician Competition is to provide a platform for Higher Order thinking amongst the students, to instil in the students and even teachers an awareness about the importance of good mathematical steps to solve mathematical problems, and to create a competitive atmosphere amongst the students and recognise their achievements to reaffirm the importance of working through their maths computation. For 3 days during the competition, each respective teacher facilitates the students in recording the explanatory video, writing down their notes and completing exercises created by the students.

During the prize giving ceremony, Hj Metussin Bin Hj Jais, Head of Cluster 2, gave a speech that summarised the goals and the findings of the competition. The Head Judges for the competition then gave their own remarks on the competition.

The guest of honour was then invited to officiate the online learning website that use resources from the competition namely the videos, notes and the exercises. It was then continued by the prize-giving ceremony for the competition. The winner for the competition was Sekolah Rendah Sengkurong, followed by Sekolah Rendah Panchor Murai and Sekolah Rendah Raja Isteri Fatimah. Fourth Place went to Sekolah Rendah Bendahara Lama.

The online learning website uses a course model which includes exciting explanatory videos, notes and exercises. The materials including the videos were crafted by students themselves during the Quest for Mathemagician Competition and this makes the materials exciting and easy to understand. To access the website, please visit

Also attended were the school leaders from Cluster 2, Top 4 winners and appointed judges from other clusters.